Day 7: If you could have any job in the world, what would it be and why?

Urmm. Not sure how to tackle today’s writing challenge.

We all as kids have the belief that we know full well what we want to work as when we grow up. We think it will happen. That we won’t change our minds or that other things in life might take over. We don’t realise at this young age all the opportunities and variety of jobs available to us.

As a child you are taught the well known jobs. Taught to aspire to be one of them. A lawyer. A vet. A doctor. A teacher. A banker. A fireman. An actor. A singer. But we’re not taught about all the opportunities in wider fields such as engineering, marketing, advertising, art. 

As a child I was desperate to be a vet or a teacher. I used to sit in my room with a register full of names and tick of the teddies who were present in front of me. I used to collect stationary and stickers to pretend to give to my toys. I was adamant up until a few years ago that I wanted to be a teacher.  A teacher in languages. However, after a year abroad working as a teacher, I soon reached the realisation that I wasn’t cut out to teach. I didn’t enjoy it all. So that was teacher struck off my list of jobs I wanted to have.

I also wanted to be a vet. I used to watch animal rescue and animal hospital on the telly. Read animal ark books. Show an interest in anything which helped looked after animals. I became adamant I could become a vet. The 5 or 6 years of studying didn’t bother me. But as I got older the one thing that was holding me back was blood and broken bones. So basically the main things you need to deal with as a vet. I got more and more screamish about watching any kind of animal programme which consisted of surgery to the animal or any sight of blood. That soon put an end to my hopes of becoming a vet and helping animals when they needed it the most.

I was in limbo for years about what I wanted to do as a job. My parents kept pulling me in the direction of working in law, as a barrister or a lawyer. They also suggested a translator. They encouraged me to study French at University and aim to be a translator or work with the foreign office. I, however, when I got to university realised my weakest skills in language was translating so that was a very quick bye bye to a job in translating.

It wasn’t until my second year of university that I started to develop an interest in a new career. Marketing. I loved the idea of it. I did a couple of modules in French on it and fell in love with the idea. My lecturer used to work in marketing and I always eagerly listened to stories he would tell from when he worked in marketing. I wanted a career that he had. It sounded something that would suit me and I could actually do well at.

I applied and applied for marketing roles to enter into for when I finished university but unfortunately there was far too much competition and many people with an actual marketing degree.

After doing an internship one summer with a marketing and events department in the city I knew more than ever that that was exactly what I wanted to enter in to.

To this day I’m still applying left, right and centre for a role in marketing or events but I’m still waiting for that one company to take a gamble on me. I may not have the marketing degree but I’m a fast and eager learner, and will soon learn the ropes. I’m quite independent but can also work as part of a team when needed to. I have a passion for this sector.  And when someone has passion for something they give it their all and do all that they can to fulfill it and more.

So yes, I went from wanting to be a teacher, to a vet to now wanting to work in Marketing & Events.

A lot further down the line my dream job would definitely be to be a wedding/party planner but first I want to work in the city organising events for the promoting of the company and their clients, marketing the company and their products to attract more clients and to write marketing material for the company to send out.

That’s my dream job. It isn’t too much to ask for, is it?

Day 7: Complete ✔️

Not Quite Made Girl
x

If you want to join in go check out Thebitsandbobsinmybrain blog. The more the merrier!

untitled-drawing-1

Leave a Reply

